The OSHA Process Safety Standard: The 30-Year Update (ebook in PDF format)

First Edition
by Ian Sutton

The OSHA 30-Year Update

About the Author

Ian Sutton is a chemical engineer with over 20 years of experience in implementing process safety programs in a wide range of facilities, including chemical plants, refineries and offshore oil and gas platforms.

Ian Sutton

He has published many books to do with process safety. Titles include Process Safety Management, Process Risk and Reliability Management, Plant Design and Operations and Offshore Safety Management.

He writes regular blog posts at

Note: Ebook delivered via email within 5 minutes of purchase completion.

About the Book

In 2022 OSHA (the United States Occupational Safety and Health Administration) published a proposed update to its Process Safety Management standard. This is the first change to the standard since its release in 1992.

OSHA has identified 24 topics which they would like to change, modify or enhance. This book describes each of these topics, and discusses how they can be implemented. The topics include:

  • Oil and gas drilling and production
  • Natural disasters and extreme temperatures
  • Chemical and explosive hazards
  • Retail facilities
  • RAGAGEP (Recognized and Generally Accepted Good Engineering Practices)
  • Defining the limits of covered processes
  • Root cause analysis
  • Stop work authority
  • Process hazards analysis recommendations,
  • Information management
  • Organizational changes
  • Equipment and mechanical integrity
  • Local emergency response
  • Third-party audits
  • Process safety management systems

This book is both thorough and practical. It not only describes the proposed updates in detail, it also provides practical guidance as to how these changes can be implemented in either an operating facility or a design office.